This small quaint seaport has roots back to April 7, 1730 when Isaac and Jonathan Green Sr. purchased from Ebenezer Harker "a certain plantation and track of land containing by estimation 441 acres situate lying and being in ye Carterett in ye county of province of aforsaid being ye west side of ye mouth off White Oak River." By 1771 Theophilus Weeks started a town on his plantation, laying out a plat and selling lots. Formerly known as Bogue, Week's Point, The Wharf and New Town, the town was officially designated by the North Carolina General Assembly on May 6, 1783. Above photo (from North Carolina State Archives) courtesy Jack Dudley, as included in Swansboro - A Pictorial Tribute
Now closed in, the porch, most likely on the front of the house when constructed, once provided a unique ventilation system seen in early Beaufort homes; it allowed heat to be expelled near the roof and pulled cooler air into the rooms. The 105 Water Street house is on the corner of Moore and Water Streets.
Charcoal Portraits of Martha and Thomas circa 1840s
Beaufort resident Thomas Thomas, born in 1816, married Martha Dudley Murray on August 3, 1841. It is believed that they had sixteen children; only four of their children lived—Isabella, Samuel, Thomas Murray and William Alonzo.
Captain Thomas was a successful merchant with his own sailing vessels. His wharf-front building on Beaufort’s Taylor’s Creek was near the corner of Turner Street. In 1888, ten years before his death, a huge fire destroyed his wharf and numerous other stores and warehouses on the waterfront. Though the Swansboro "Beaufort House" was named for Thomas Thomas, the old sailor spent eighty-two years on the Beaufort waterfront, living and working in a two-block area.
At different times, this house was owned by Edward Ward Mattocks, his step-father Dr. Philip Koonce and his brother-in-law George Washington Ward.